Book Review: Sew Sweet Clothes For Girls by Yuki Araki

I am a big fan of Japanese pattern books for children. Since none of the Japanese or French versions are sold in India , I usually have to wait for an English translation to come out. (Not that I can read Japanese or French, but usually one can manage by just studying the diagrams. ) So far I have bought three, Happy Homemade vol 2, Girl Style Book and now Sew Sweet Clothes , which I am reviewing here.

The best thing I like about this book is that it includes patterns for the 90 cm size. That ‘s roughly 18 months to 2 years. The patterns are fresh and modern. There are patterns included for all the styles illustrated, skirts, tops, dresses and even knit leggings and a hat, which makes this a very good buy indeed. Conversion figures are given for centimetres and inches.

A line skirt from Sew Sweet Clothes for Girls, Yuki Araki

A line skirt from Sew Sweet Clothes for Girls, Yuki Araki

I made my 2 year old daughter the A – line skirt from the book . It is actually is a yoked style with symmetrical off centre pleats.

When I was looking through the book, I realised that the shorts pattern used the same yoke, so why not combine the two and make a skort ! So that’s what  I did. I also used the pockets from the shorts pattern , but put them on the front skirt piece. The skirt itself was gathered instead of pleated, since the fabric was a soft Ikat cotton.

Skort showing shorts underneath

The skirt turned out really cute. The fit is on the smaller side for my 27 month old, 12 kg girl though. This is probably better for girls up to 2 years. The book is great . I  see myself using this a lot, like all my other Japanese pattern books.

2 comments on “Book Review: Sew Sweet Clothes For Girls by Yuki Araki

  1. fiveandcountingblogspotcomau says:

    That ikat is very groovy.

Leave a Reply

